Bauskas novada dome


The Bauska County Municipality is a local administration that, through the representation elected by the citizens, i.e. through the Bauska County Council and its formed institutions and offices, ensures the functions stipulated by law, performs the tasks assigned by the Cabinet of the Ministers in compliance with the procedure stipulated by the Law „On Municipalities” and performs voluntary initiatives of the municipality in the administrative territory of the Bauska County according to the interests of the population of the State and the administrative territory of the Bauska County.
The administrative centre of the municipality is Bauska Town.
The Bauska County consists of the following territorial units: Bauska Town and the parishes of Brunava, Ceraukste, Code, Dāviņi, Gailīši, Īslīce, Mežotne, Vecsaule.
The Council is constituted of seventeen deputies. For the execution of the activity of the Council, four permanent committees have been formed: Committee of Finance, Committee of Social and Health Affairs, Committee of Environment and Development and Committee of Education, Culture and Sports Affairs.
The Council has established the following institutions to enforce the decisions adopted by the Council, to ensure the managerial and technical services to its work and the performance of functions delegated to the municipality:
• The Bauska County Administration;
• Parish administrations;
• 20 educational institutions, including a state gymnasium, 3 secondary schools, boarding special elementary school, 8 elementary schools, 2 preschool education institutions, 3 vocational education institutions, and an interests education institution;
• The Bauska Central Library;
• Cultural institutions;
• Social care institution;
• Other institutions: Sports Centre Mēmele, the Bauska County Orphan’s Court and the Bauska County Social Service.
The Bauska County Council is a holder of capital shares in eight companies:
• Bauskas slimnīca Ltd. – health care;
• Zemgales mutes veselības centrs Ltd. – dentistry services;
• Vides serviss Ltd. – household waste management, improvement of territories and objects, greening, maintenance and real estate management;
• Bauskas ūdens Ltd. – water extraction and supply to consumers, collection of waste water, directing to treatment systems, performance of treatment process;
• Bauskas siltums Ltd. – production, management and sale of heating energy;
• Īslīces ūdens Ltd. – communal services, heating, sanitary technical works;